Department Chair

Ezekiel J Emanuel, MD, PhD

  • Diane v.S. Levy & Robert M. Levy Professor; Vice Provost for Global Initiatives; Chair, Department of Medical Ethics & Health Policy; Penn Integrates Knowledge (PIK) Professor
  • Email: MEHPchair@upenn.edu

Vice Chairs

Steven Joffe, MD, MPH

  • Vice Chair of Medical Ethics; Emanuel and Robert Hart Associate Professor
  • Email: joffes@upenn.edu

Kevin Volpp, MD, PhD

  • Vice Chair of Health Policy; Professor of Medicine and Health Care Management, Perelman School of Medicine and the Wharton School
  • Email: volpp70@exchange.upenn.edu

Faculty

B

Anne Barnhill, PhD

Justin E. Bekelman, MD

Angela R. Bradbury, MD

C

David J. Casarett, MD, MA

  • Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine Director of Hospice and Palliative Care, University of Pennsylvania Health System
  • Email: casarett@upenn.edu

F

Chris Feudtner, MD, PhD, MPH

  • Steven D. Handler Endowed Chair of Medical Ethics; Attending Physician & Research Director, PACT & ICS; Scientific Co-Director, PolicyLab, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Email: feudtner@email.chop.edu

Autumn Fiester, PhD

  • Director of Education; Director, Penn Clinical Ethics Mediation Program; Co-Director, Project on Bioethics, Sexuality & Gender Identity
  • Office: 215-573-2602
  • Email: fiester@mail.med.upenn.edu

G

Alexander Guerrero, JD, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy and Assistant Professor of Philosophy
  • Email: aguerr@upenn.edu

H

Scott D. Halpern, MD, PhD, MBE

  • Assistant Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Medical Ethics & Health Policy; Director, Fostering Improvement in End-of-Life Decision Science (FIELDS) Program; Deputy Director, Center for Health Incentives & Behavioral Economics (CHIBE)
  • Email: shalpern@exchange.upenn.edu

K

Jason Karlawish, MD

L

Paul Lanken, MD

  • Associate Dean for Professionalism & Humanism, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania; Professor of Medicine and Medical Ethics & Health Policy at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
  • Email: Paul.Lanken@uphs.upenn.edu

M

J. Catherine Maclean, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy; Thomas Scattergood Scholar on Behavioral Health Economics
  • Office: 215-746-8682
  • Email: macleanc@upenn.edu

Jon F. Merz, JD, PhD

  • Associate Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Office: 215.573.8107
  • Fax: 215.573.3036
  • Email: merz@mail.med.upenn.edu

Katherine L. Milkman, PhD

  • James G. Campbell, Jr. Assistant Professor of Operations and Information Management; Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy
  • Email: kmilkman@wharton.upenn.edu

Jonathan D. Moreno, PhD

  • David & Lyn Silfen University Professor, Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy and of History & Sociology of Science, Penn Integrates Knowledge (PIK) Professor, Professor of Philosophy (by courtesy)
  • Email: morenojd@mail.med.upenn.edu

P

R

Jennifer Prah Ruger, PhD, MSc, MA, MSL

S

Pamela L. Sankar, PhD

  • Associate Professor of Bioethics
  • Office: 215.898.7136
  • Fax: 215.573.3036
  • Email: sankarp@upenn.edu

Harald Schmidt, MA, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy; Research Associate, Center for Health Incentives and Behavioral Economics
  • Email: schmidth@exchange.upenn.edu

Dominic A. Sisti, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy; Assistant Professor of Psychiatry; Director, The Scattergood Program for Applied Ethics of Behavioral Health Care
  • Email: sistid@upenn.edu

U

Connie Ulrich, PhD

W

Lance Wahlert, PhD

  • Assistant Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy; Master of Bioethics (MBE) Program Director; Director, Project on Bioethics, Sexuality, and Gender Identity; Core Faculty, Alice Paul Center for Research on Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies
  • Email: lwahlert@mail.med.upenn.edu

Jennifer K. Walter, MD, PhD, MS

  • Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine; Attending Physician in the Division of General Pediatrics at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Email: walterj1@email.chop.edu